Migraine Life Update

The pandemic is still doing strange things to my sense of time. And I haven’t been feeling motivated to write in this blog. My apologies!

I *do* have an update though! Finally!

I finally tried 2 new medications for migraine attacks: Ubrelvy and Nurtec ODT. I got free samples from my neurologist. At this point, I would say that I prefer the Nurtec ODT. It’s been nice to have a new medication besides Imitrex. Imitrex just hasn’t been working as well lately. So yay for that!

Another big change that I’ve been focusing on is switching to a fragrance-free life as much as possible. So what does that mean? Over the last month, I’ve been buying only fragrance free products.

FRAGRANCE FREE EVERYTHING:

-Shampoo/conditioner/hair spray

-Face and body lotion

-Laundry detergent and fabric softener

-Deodorant

-Hand sanitizer (which I found at Bath and Body Works, surprisingly!)

And I also took all my candles and perfume bottles and put them in a box in my garage.

Soooooo… *knock on wood*… I had a few less migraine attacks this past month… so maybe something is working?! Or it could be a fluke. It’s too early to say. But I wanted to share this update anyway. Can you relate?

5 responses

  1. Are you still having fewer migraine days? I sure hope so.
    I’ve been fragrance free for a very long time, actually can’t remember how long now. Scents are a huge trigger for me. Of course I’ve had this damn migraine for so long I can’t remember what it’s like not to have one, but scents can still make it worse.
    How do you like living in a fragrance free world? Well as much as you can control.
    I’m going to a migraine conference in October, hopefully, and it requires that everyone is fragrance free.
    I was in the hospital for my migraines and a nurse had an extreme fragrance. She swore she wasn’t wearing any, then we found out she uses scented laundry products. How could she not smell it?
    It was so loud! I was ready to leave the hospital then she triggered it again!
    sigh
    Good to read you were having better days. ๐Ÿ’•

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello! I tried Ubrelvy with no luck, but Nurtec is helping a great deal. So I’ve been put on it every other day. I am still trying my best to be fragrance-free, including laundry products! I haven’t found a good shampoo/conditioner though. I also noticed some hair loss, so I switched back to my fragranced shampoo/conditioner for now.

      Thank you for commenting, I’m so sorry for the incredibly late responses. I’ve been dealing with other things lately and I haven’t had the energy to keep up. But I’ll try to do better!

      With love,

      Kelly

      Like

      1. Never worry about being late replying to me๐Ÿ’•

        I’m so glad Nurtec is helping.
        I was on it as a preventative, then they messed up my prescription, I’ll be back on as soon as it gets here (mail order), but I honestly don’t think it’s helping.

        I’m not totally fragrance free, well mostly I can tolerate a few scents, mainly citrus. If you have wavy or curly hair Jessie Curl has good unscented products. For some reason my hair has straightened a lot, I still use that brand a lot…I have it on hand…but I might try to find something else, less expensive.
        I miss my curls, I’d get a perm but can’t stand the smell.

        Have missed you love.
        Wendy

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sending you lots of love! (Always later than I’d like!)

          Personally, I didn’t like Nurtec as a preventive. I was having a lot of new health issues that popped up at that time, and I didn’t know what was happening! So I only take it as needed, and I much prefer that. I’m glad you tried it, even if it doesn’t end up being effective. I tried Ubrelvy as well, which is another option. But for now, I’m sticking with Nurtec. I also tried to go back to Sumatriptan, and it barely works for me anymore. Funny how that happens! What a journey.

          Always happy to come back to this blog and read your comments ๐Ÿ™‚

          And thank you for the product recommendation! I will check out Jessie Curl!

          -Kelly

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Oh I think I’ve tried just about everything!
            So many work…then stop. Yes, it’s weird, and aggravating.
            I’m doing ketamine infusions. It works, but a pain going inpatient.
            I’m also getting a migraine cocktail infusion every week.. that’s not working, but I should have gotten ketamine a month ago…long story…unfortunately.

            Been thinking about you a lot.
            So glad we met up for a bit.
            Hope to chat soon

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment