Failures and New Beginnings

Starting a new treatment for chronic migraines for me is usually equal parts hope and skepticism.  I’ve spent a decade and a half trying to get rid of the beast in my head.  (Yes, I call this disease a “beast,” because I don’t want it to be part of me.  It’s a separate entity that lives in me, causing me pain.)  And I still have hope that something will calm it down.  But so far, nothing has worked.  Over the years, I thought something would happen.

Would moving to a state without snowy winters calm it down?  For me, no.

Would ANY medication ever help, and not have terrible side effects?  For me, no.

I saw all different types of doctors, and tried many types of treatments… but so far, even if the beginning results felt promising, it never lasted.

So Botox has fallen under the category of “made me worse, had horrible side effects.”  This is sad to say.  Everyone was crossing their fingers and hoping for the best.

1 month down, 2 more to go, until the Botox wears off.  Which, in my case, I am happily waiting for.  October has been rough, painful, and stressful.

What is next?

Another lifestyle change.  I started eating different foods a few days ago, and so far, the pain has calmed down.  Once again, I go into a new diet/treatment with equal parts hope and skepticism.  Fingers crossed. 

With every failure comes an opportunity for a new beginning– The roller coaster of the chronic pain life!

(P.S.  I will post more about the new diet later!)

2 responses

  1. I’m so sorry the Botox didn’t work. It didn’t work for me. Didn’t make me worse. I so hate you are having such a hard time.
    I’m glad the pain is a little better with this treatment.
    Keep posting about it.
    Nothing has worked for me either. Not yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your thoughtful comment! I’m sorry to hear that Botox didn’t work for you either. But at least we tried, and now we know, right?
      It’s too soon to get excited, but making different food choices over the last 6 days has helped me already. *Fingers crossed*
      -Kelly

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

