So Many Changes!

After eliminating all of my prescription medications (because of too many side effects and not touching my migraines), my doctors asked me to make some drastic lifestyle changes.  Are you ready?  Here we go…

  1. No coffee.
    I have been living with my daily cup (sometimes 2 cups) of coffee for the last 6 years.  I briefly stopped drinking coffee last year, but that only lasted a month or 2.  I missed it so much and I felt tired all of the time without it.  But my doctors said no more coffee, so here we go again!
  2. No soda.
    I used to like drinking pop a lot, but didn’t indulge very often.  Then I moved (back) in with my family 4 years ago, and they drink soda all the time.  Since it was readily available and always around, I started drinking it almost daily.  But my doctors told me that the sugar and caffeine is no good, so goodbye pop.
  3. No fruit juice.
    Even the 100% juice!  Because apparently it has a lot of sugar, which I am trying to cut down on as well.
  4. No caffeine.
    Even though caffeine can sometimes help migraines, my doctors are telling me to cut it out for a while and see if that helps my migraines.  So pretty much my main drink choices are pure water, decaf iced tea, or sparkling water (like La Croix, which is flavored but has no sugar/sweeteners at all).
  5. Even MORE foods eliminated because they “might trigger migraines.”
    My doctors gave me an even LONGER list of foods to eliminate.  Here is a similar list that I found online.
  6. Earlier bed time!
    With the help of a small dose of Melatonin and Benadryl, I have been able to get to sleep earlier and wake up earlier.  As someone who has suffered from insomnia for as long as I can remember, this change has been challenging.  But I’m doing it!!
  7. Visiting a new Chiropractor.
    On a whim, I saw a sign for a new chiropractor at the office where my primary care physician works.  I’ve had 2 appointments with him so far, and he is amazing!  Very understanding and supportive, and my migraines have been much calmer.  Coincidence?  Only time will tell.
  8. Heat therapy/Neck exercises
    When I have a migraine, I usually use ice packs.  But my new chiro suggested that I put heat on my neck every day as a preventative technique.  After applying heat for 15 minutes, I do some neck stretches, and then re-apply heat for another 15 minutes.  It feels great!!!  Luckily, one of my ice packs is versatile, and can also be microwaved.
  9. No work/work stress/fluorescent lighting/loud noises.
    Medical leave from work continues, so I don’t have the triggers of work stress, which also comes along with horrible lighting and loud noises.

I’ve been feeling better on my good days, so maybe some of this is working?  Or it’s another Lucky Streak that is only tricking me into thinking I am doing better.  I’m trying not to be too paranoid.  I am trying to have hope.  And I am trying to take advantage of these good moments by doing fun things (but also trying not to overdo it).  It’s a balancing act.

It’s amazing how many lifestyle changes I’ve made in just the past few weeks.  Pretty dramatic, huh?  I am sticking to these for as long as possible.  My doctors warned me that I might feel worse before I feel better (especially withdrawal symptoms from no caffeine and no meds).  They said to stay with the changes anyway.  So I am!!

Thank you for all of your comments and kind words.  I am glad I have online friends who understand how difficult all of this is.  Your support means so much to me!  ❤ ❤

4 responses

  1. I don’t know how I’d function without coffee, you go girl! You should be proud for making so many changes in a short time. Not everyone is able to do that. Happy you’re seeing positive results 😊 Sending positive vibes your way! xoxo

    Like

    1. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! The caffeine withdrawal has been hard, omg. Still looking for ways to boost my energy without coffee. I’ve been able to keep the migraine beast calm for the last couple of weeks. We’ll see if it lasts. *fingers crossed* Thank you for the support!
      -Kelly

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I 100% agree with Shanna – if I can’t have my coffee…omg!!

    I have a hard time understanding the medical community when it comes to food triggers – there are so many lists out there that honestly, I think sometimes they’re grasping at straws. My food trigger list was four complete pages and included preservatives and seasonings. I’m on week three of an elimination diet where I’ve cut out all vegetables and will gradually introduce them back in. After that is supposed to be all meat, I think I’m going to jump to the fruits next – Thanksgiving and Christmas without turkey??

    You’re making progress and that’s all that counts. Stay strong – you can do this!! Lots of hugs and love!!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much!! I am still having trouble figuring out which foods are my triggers. I’ve been having a lucky streak for the last two weeks (no full blown migraine attacks, yay!) so maybe the food list is working… or maybe it’s coincidence. Not sure yet. It’s so hard to know! It’s *especially* hard at the holidays to be so “difficult.” I’m still going strong with better sleeping and seeing the chiropractor, so maybe it isn’t food related! Only time will tell. You know the struggle. Hope you are doing well!
      Love and hugs,
      Kelly

      Like

Leave a Reply

