Emergency Room Trip = Catalyst for Change

I have never felt a migraine that painful before.  It felt like something exploded in the back of my head.

I had been struggling with migraine pain all day… no pain meds were touching the pain… it kept getting worse.  All day, I debated about whether or not I should go to the Emergency Room.  At around 8:30 pm, I went into my bedroom to lay down in the dark, thinking it would help.  That was when my brain/body turned on me, and hit me with pain that turned me into a sobbing hysterical mess.

Luckily, my dad was home and we zoomed to the nearest ER as fast as the car would take us.  The pain did not let up, not for even one second.  It was persistent and the absolute worst I had ever felt.  Once we arrived at the ER, the nurse kept telling me to calm down, but I couldn’t.  I needed the pain to stop NOW because I just couldn’t take another SECOND of it.

After sitting in a wheelchair for 5 minutes, still sobbing hysterically, my dad insisted they put me in a Quiet room while we waited for a room.  Any amount of time spent in the Quiet room was STILL too long for me to handle.  I kept begging for pain meds, for someone to make the pain stop, asking for someone to help me, but it just took much too long.  It would be another 45 minutes until I was in a dark, quiet, private room, hooked up to a heart monitor, being interviewed by the doctor.  At that point, the pain was so bad, I would have rather died than feel it for another second.

He FINALLY gave the nurse the OK to give me Toradol, Dilaudid, and Compazine.  Within 5 minutes, the pain subsided and I was able to feel relief.  It is crazy that the pain meds worked that well and that quickly.  I am so lucky.

All in all, it was the fastest I ever got treatment at the ER, but that still didn’t feel fast enough.  I am very grateful that the pain calmed down, and that I was able to go home after a few hours.  That amount of pain was traumatizing…

…But in a way, I am grateful… because I finally feel ready to make some lifestyle changes.  The ER that night was my Rock Bottom.  I knew that I couldn’t keep living the way that I was.  And now that I’ve changed some things, I am feeling better.

I will post soon about what I’ve been doing differently.  Stay tuned!

3 responses

  1. I can totally sympathize. Sending positive vibes your way!

    Like

  2. Ah I feel your pain. I hope things have been improving for you xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s always a roller-coaster… I have good and bad days every week. Still trying to figure out this crazy thing called Migraine Disease!! Thanks for the love. ❤
      -Kelly

      Like

Leave a Reply

