Steroids for Migraines

The migraine beasts have been attacking more viciously lately, so my neurologist suggested a round of tapered Prednisone.  60 mg for 3 days, then 50 mg for 3 days, etc.  I’m willingly to try anything at this point.

What happens when I take Prednisone?  I have discovered that it makes me loopy, sleepy, and out of it.  I slur my speech and speak slo-o-o-o-wly.  It’s harder to fall asleep and stay asleep.  I can’t drive on these high doses.

BUT on the bright side…

NO MIGRAINES!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Luckily, so far, the Prednisone has given me a chance to rest (aka hide from the world) while taking ZERO painkillers (in my case, triptans).

My brain is experiencing technical difficulties (of a different kind, for once), but I’m hoping this helps in the long-term as well.

::fingers crossed::

P.S.  If you ever have to take Prednisone, read up on what to eat while taking it.  It’s good to up your potassium and lower your salt intake.  I had a banana today and it made me feel a little better. 🙂

6 responses

  1. I’ve done the taper twice. First time was a huge relief but the second I just had crazy side effects. Good luck and I hope it keeps helping! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for commenting! Any advice for getting through the side effects?
      -Kelly

      Like

      1. Just try to stay positive no matter what the side effect. Easier said than done sometimes but it does help!

        Like

        1. I love that! Thank you! ❤

          Like

  2. I’m currently on prednisone taper for the fourth time in the past year and a half and today was my first migraine since I started it four days ago! My main side effect is I’m insanely hungry. Hope it helps!

    Like

    1. 4 times?! You poor thing! It’s not an easy medication to take. I feel your pain! Hopefully it will help us both.
      -Kelly

      Like

Leave a Reply

