Hope for a Cure?

Do you have hope that a cure will be found for your Headache disorder?  Tell us about your hope.

First of all, I have a love/hate relationship with the word “cure.”  The optimistic half of me would love to find a cure and has hope that someday, I will be cured and find a whole new life: a “Life After Migraines.”  The realistic half of me doesn’t like the word cure because it is also entirely possible that I will always be susceptible to, and experience, migraines.  Time after time, I have a good stretch of no/low pain, and I psych myself up, thinking “THIS IS IT!  I AM CURED!”… only to go back to experiencing migraines again, and a fresh wave of crushing despair because no, I wasn’t really cured, and I may never be cured.

Second, there is ALWAYS research being done to find a cure, or at least to find a better migraine-specific preventative medication.  Have you heard?  Right now, it seems like there’s a race between 4 pharmaceutical companies, all trying to perfect their drug targeting CGRP.  There is hope!

Lastly, an important strategy I have in my chronic pain/depression/anxiety toolbox is “Acknowledge when you take steps to take care of yourself” and not just whether or not you are doing a good job controlling pain.  I wrote a blog post called “I am going to get better” which fleshes that idea out:

*I am getting better by seeing a neurologist. (which I am doing now, yay!)

*I am getting better by being nicer to myself.

*I am getting better at bringing awareness about my invisible illnesses.

*I am getting better by trying new things to help my head pain. (Medication, supplements, meditation, mindfulness, etc)

It can be too easy to slip into the counting game and only focus on those numbers: “Last month I had 17 pain days and 10 full migraine attacks.”  Ouch.  But it helps to realize that I am taking care of myself by doing all of the things I said in the list above, and more.

I may not be cured, but I am getting better!

“The Migraine and Headache Awareness Month Blog Challenge is organized by the American Headache and Migraine Association.”  You can find a list of the month’s blogging challenge prompts on our Awareness Month page.

Leave a Reply

