How I Find Hope on a Dark Day

I was feeling emotionally low and mentally drained today.  Mind sabotage!!  So what do I do when I’m having a dark day, like today?

*Sending texts to friends

I think it helps to communicate with someone friendly, and let them know that I am feeling down.  It takes away that Isolation power that depression can have.

*Writing in my journal

This is where I feel safe to write down everything that I am feeling.  Sometimes the honesty of darkness helps, and I just let all the horrible feelings out.  Other times, I try to put things into a different perspective… I try to step outside of myself and see the bigger picture.  I also have my Gratitude journal, which is separate from my regular journal, so that I can *think happy thoughts* about all the good things in my life.

*Listening to music

Today (and many other days), my soundtrack was Incubus “Make Yourself.”  One of my favorite albums of all time.  It is so satisfying to sing along to the song “The Warmth” (especially that F bomb in the chorus :-P)

“So don’t let the world bring you down
Not everyone here is that f****d up and cold
Remember why you came and while you’re alive
Experience the warmth before you grow old”

*Cooking or baking

Making delicious food is like a meditation for me, and today, my meditation ended with CUPCAKES!!!!

*TV or Movie Distraction

   Hooray for Netflix!!!

“The Migraine and Headache Awareness Month Blog Challenge is organized by the American Headache and Migraine Association.”  You can find a list of the month’s blogging challenge prompts on our Awareness Month page.

One response

  1. Love the idea of a gratitude journal. I really have to start one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

