Who Helps You Hope?

Which person in your life has helped you most to hold on to hope, despite your Migraines or Headaches and how?

I woke up today feeling exhausted and depressed, wondering if I would soon be hit with a migraine. I checked the Blogging Challenge question and immediately, my brain decided to spit out all of the names of naysayers and their non-supportive comments I had been dealing with lately. I scoffed and thought, Psh, I don’t have anyone that helps me.

Upon further contemplation today, I’ve changed my thinking.

The person who was there for me when I was at my worst was my mom, who also had migraines. She was always the one I called when I felt horrible. She was my advocate when I first started getting migraines, taking me to all my doctor’s appointments and staying home with me when I was sick and couldn’t go to school. I’ve been struggling a lot without her this past year, ever since she passed away suddenly from a heart attack.

Then my best friend came into my mind. When I first started getting migraines every day in high school, she was the first of any of my friends or classmates who helped me out.

One time, in particular, she came to pick me up to take me to school. She looked at me and she said, “I can tell you have a migraine.”

“Oh my gosh, yes! How can you tell?”

She said, “I can see the pain in your eyes.”

Just feeling understood gives me hope.

Fast forward to today, and the guy I’m dating right now says the same thing. He can see past the “I’m Fine” mask that seems to fool everyone else. He also spent time with me in the ER when I had my worst migraine ever. He encourages me and gives me hope.

I’ve also found a lot of support from other people that have migraines, like through this blog. There are so many similarities between my life and yours. There is hope where there is connection.

Occasionally, I post on my personal Facebook about my migraine struggles and I find support through fellow friends and family members that understand my pain. They help me hold on and they help me to find the strength and hope to keep going. I feel less alone.

 

“The Migraine and Headache Awareness Month Blog Challenge is organized by the American Headache and Migraine Association.”   You can find a list of the month’s blogging challenge prompts on our Awareness Month page.

Leave a Reply

