Back to Reality

Vacation was AMAZING!!!!!!!!  I had so much fun.  I didn’t realize how important this vacation would be for my mental health.  I haven’t had a nice 5 day vacation in a long time.  5 days of no work.  Strictly FUN!  🙂

I have a multiple-part PLAN of ACTION regarding my chronic migraines.  (Heads Up: I am not a doctor and this is not medical advice! This is just my personal plan that I would like to share.) I started a new prescription medication that I take every night (Nortriptyline).   Hopefully it will help my headaches and my sleep.  I am also taking new supplements every day (Vitamin B Complex, Magnesium, CoQ10).  I am trying my hardest to stick to a new sleep schedule (SO HARD for me, as an insomniac, ugh).

As for my migraine diet, I am sticking to a few things:

-No cheddar cheese, blue cheese, gorgonzola, camembert, and brie (most other cheeses seem to be okay)

-No yogurt (too much tyramine for me)

-No meats with nitrites/nitrates (like hot dogs or deli meat.) Luckily I’ve found some good meats without it!

-No sodium benzoate (I’ve heard bad things about this particular preservative)

I’m also working on techniques dealing with my anxiety and depression.  Things like meditation and breathing.  Stress and tension are really bad for my chronic pain management.  Not only can it trigger head pain, but it makes everything so much harder to deal with.

I had a nice low-pain streak on vacation.  Now it’s back to reality and stress.  I was hit with crazy pain today.  So now I am taking care of myself as best I can and trying to just hang in there.

No more work or stress today.  Time for relaxation.

🙂

Leave a Reply

