Life Situations

Do you find it hard to take a break from your mind and relentless thoughts?  I am a highly-sensitive over-thinker.  I feel too much, and I think too much (if there is such a thing).  It can get in the way sometimes of being able to relax and feel joy.  Anxiety much?  Ugh.

I am reading the full version of the book called The Power of Now, suggested to me by my doctor.  I read the handbook version last year, and the concepts were hard to grasp the first time.

This time around, I understand a little more.  Right now, I am pondering the topic of “Life Situations.”   How humans create drama and problems out of life situations.  But is it necessary?  The author Eckhart Tolle would tell you that it is insanity.  The book says to live in the moment, and ask yourself, “What problem do I have right now?”   Sure, I might want to change certain life situations, but is there any immediate problem?  Maybe not as much as I think.

To extrapolate from this idea… I have a lot of gratitude.  I am alive.  In a cozy home with my family.  There are many things I want, but not many things I need.  Food, water, shelter… it would be nice to reflect and realize how much I can take for granted.

I may not be in perfect health, but I am able to sing, dance, and so much more.   I have moments where the pain subsides and I feel “normal” again.

🙂

Don’t you love when a book can expand your mind and enrich your life?

6 responses

  1. The Glitter Fairy | Reply

    I’m a bookaholic for exactly that reason! Books make the world fifteen times more amazing.

    Like

    1. Yes yes yes! I’m also making my way through Vonnegut’s books. There’s always another great book waiting to be discovered. 🙂
      -Kelly

      Like

      1. The Glitter Fairy | Reply

        I’ve only read one Vonnegut, Slaughterhouse Five, and I loved it! Which one are you reading? I’m reading three books at once right now. I have commitment issues.

        Like

        1. I’ve read “Welcome to the Monkey House,” “Galapagos,” “Slaughterhouse 5,” “God Bless You, Dr. Kevorkian,” and “Timequake.”

          I loved them all!

          I just started “Cat’s Cradle.” I imagine I will love it too.

          -Kelly

          Like

  2. Yes, books can get us started but we have to finish. Good job! http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

    Like

    1. Thank you, friend!
      -Kelly

      Like

Leave a Reply

