Sleep and Migraine Connection

After years of trying many different medications for my migraines, I think I’ve tried almost every type of preventative.  Recently, the most effective preventative has been Benadryl (diphenhydramine), which I take at night.  My new neurologist thinks that it is helping me sleep.  He isn’t sure about the allergy connection.

Perhaps he is right about the sleep and migraine connection.  I’ve had insomnia for all of my life.  Part of me wants to be on a “regular” sleep schedule (instead of going to bed at 2 or 3 AM).  But part of me loves the quiet nighttime.  I feel calm and creative in the middle of the night.  No distractions.  Just my own little world.

I’ll have to figure out a compromise with my sleep patterns.  Luckily, the Benadryl seems to help me achieve more good days, and it definitely helps me fall asleep more quickly.  I’m holding onto hope.  Only time will tell…

 

2 responses

  1. Glad to see something has given you a reprive. I am certain there is a sleep/migraine connection. I have always had insomnia too, and chronic migraines.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the comment love! My nights have been restless this week, thus triggering more migraines. It feels like a game, and I’m losing this week. But there’s always tomorrow.
      -Kelly

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

