The Sooner, The Better

After being on a good low-pain streak, I started to feel the Migraine beast emerge yesterday.  The (metaphorical) ice pick that was attacking my right eye became sharper, more intense, and more frequent.  Grrrr.  At first I was mad that I was losing the “battle.”  Then I was sad that my streak was officially over.  And then I was mad at myself for waiting too long to take my strong meds.  I was trying to be optimistic!  I was hopeful that the knife attack would cease… if I just ate some healthy foods… if I tried to get some sleep… if I tried to wish away the pain.  Silly, huh?

For me, it’s really hard to give in and take the Heavy Duty Pills.  I know logically that sometimes I wait too long to take them.  I wait for the pain to worsen so I can justify taking the pills.  This is a bad idea!  I’ve read it everywhere and I’ve been told by numerous doctors: “The longer you wait, the harder it is to get rid of the pain.”

Next time, I will try my best to take medicine sooner.  The longer I wait, the more severe the pain, and the harder it is to stop the migraine.  I guess I have to learn the hard way… over and over again.

take em

 

3 responses

  1. Same here, just the optimistic feeling somehow it will go away on its on but yet it never does and then it’s too late. At least you had a good spell without any and that is something to celebrate about. 🙂

    Like

    1. You’re so right! I had some good days, so that’s worth celebrating. Then back to that same old horrific pain again. Hooray for pain pills! It took a couple days, but today they finally beat the beast!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. […] about taking my meds sooner (a lesson I have learned the hard way over and over again, as described in a post here). I feel less like a torture victim.  So that’s a […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

