It’s Been a Difficult Year

This last week I’ve been dealing with the Double Whammy of migraine pain plus a really bad cold.  Colds may be common, but combined with migraine head pain, I have been miserable and hiding in my Stress-Free Bubble.

Gotta pump up “Take Care of Kelly” mode with: Vitamins galore, hot tea with honey, cold medicine, lots of rest, TV, books, cough drops, and delicious soup.

On another note, I can’t believe 2014 is almost over.  It has been a year of incredible difficulty for me personally.  Incident after incident, I’ve had to go through the 5 Stages of Grief.  (Here’s the Wikipedia definition).

I haven’t included some of these incidents on this blog, but here’s a brief overview:

-In May, I found out that my mom died from a heart attack–she was only 55.  We had a complicated relationship, but I was really close to her.

-In July, my migraines went from being once or twice a week to almost every day.  I had to face the reality that my migraines are still here, still severe, and are more disabling than ever before.

-In August, my grandma (who I live with right now) was diagnosed with cancer.  She had surgery and is in recovery now.

-In November, my severely depressed family member (newly diagnosed as Bipolar Mixed Episode) attempted suicide and is currently hospitalized.

To this day, I am trying to hold on to hope, and trying to be resilient. I am trying to be accepting of all the hardships that life throws at me.  Some days, I can clearly see positive outcomes, even amidst tragedy.  Other days, I am sensitive and feel the heaviness in my heart of everything that has happened.  I’m hoping that as I move through the 5 Stages of Grief, I can start to accept my new reality.

It’s hard to see all of this pain on my blog, in black-and-white type, but hopefully this will give you a better idea of what I’ve been going through.

Honesty is a good thing, right?

 

beautiful

Leave a Reply

