I am going to get better…

I’m going to get better.

I’m going to get better.

I’m going to get better.


But here’s the catch: I’m not talking about my migraines getting better. Sure, I would love to find a cure (of COURSE!)…

but I am starting to realize that there ways to get better besides finding a cure.

I am going to get better…

1. by seeking other opinions (by seeing a new neurologist soon)
2. by meditating and learning mindfulness
3. by relaxing my tense muscles
4. by being nicer to myself
5. by keeping lists of things that make me feel better (like acupuncture!)
6. by keeping lists of things that make me feel happy (like a good song!)
7. by keeping lists of things I feel grateful for (my loved ones!)
8. by accepting my diagnosis, minus the blame/ guilt/ anger
9. by holding onto hope and trying new things

I am going to get better by telling people when I have a migraine, instead of hiding it.

I am going to get better by spreading awareness about invisible illnesses.

I am going to get better… by listening to educated migraine experts, and my fellow chronic pain sufferers (who are also experts!).

The list keeps going on and on. Right now, I am trying to self-endorse, and recognize when I am doing positive things for myself–other than taking a pill and getting rid of a migraine beast attack. Sometimes I succeed at getting rid of the pain with pills, and sometimes I don’t succeed.  Even when I do succeed, I usually wake up the next day just as bad (or worse) again.

So I’m trying a new thing, where I don’t base my idea of “getting better” on the amount (or lack) of pain I feel.

I am getting better when I do all of these other things– the ones I can actually control.

Life is one long learning process.  I grow every day, and I’m excited that I have this blog so I can share my ideas and thoughts with you.  Thank you for reading!

get better

***Feel free to add your own “I’m going to get better…” statements in the comments!!

3 responses

  1. I have fibro and depression, both invisible diseases…and I love your outlook.

    Like

    1. Thank you darling! So sorry to hear about your invisible diseases. You’re not alone. *hugs*
      -Kelly

      Liked by 1 person

  2. […] I said in my last post: “I’m trying a new thing, where I don’t base my idea of “getting better” on the […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

