Helplessness

Part of my chronic pain life: Everyone in my world is forced to watch me suffer, and they, in turn, suffer from helplessness.  How do I feel about it?

I don’t have a choice in the matter.  When a migraine hits, there is no one that can help me. Sometimes I can’t even help myself.  I can take medicine, turn off all the lights, turn down all the noise that I can, use an ice pack, shut out the world; and yet sometimes all of those things fail.

We can only do our best in each situation.

Helplessness.  What a sucky feeling.  Watching someone you love suffer and not being able to do anything to help ease it.  How do our loved ones handle it?  I’m sure their stomachs tighten, their hearts clench, and they feel completely out of control.  So much time spent worrying, but what good will that do?

That is just a part of life.  It’s a part of my life, too frequently.  I remind myself that this too shall pass.  Even though my loved ones can’t magically take away the pain, at least they care.  At least they are there.  I remind myself that we are all allowed to feel the feelings we experience, and that it is actually quite normal to feel helpless when it comes to a chronic pain situation. It’s normal.  It’s human.

Sometimes all that matters is that your loved ones are there for you.  Just being there.  That’s all.

 

being there

One response

  1. […] life with severe and crippling depression.  I wrote my post on Helplessness about my chronic pain (read here) but it’s also about the helplessness I feel when I see my family member falling apart. 😦 No […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

