Invisible Illness Awareness Week

Invisible Illness Awareness Week is here!

This article is really lovely: http://invisibleillnessweek.com/2010/08/21/living-with-invisible-illness-5-ways-to-get-over-aggravations/

I have been working on all 5 this week.

I think the hardest one for me right now is “Let go of expectations.”  I tend to be one of those people who plans ahead, writes elaborate To Do lists and has big dreams.  I am trying to adjust to the idea that a life with migraines is more complicated.  I won’t give up on my dreams, but I need to let go of the idea of Perfection.  Hard!

I am getting better at “Search for the joy in blessings.”  I am trying to focus on the positive things in my life and embrace all of the special little moments that happen each day.

I have to admit, my mood swings are definitely in full swing this week.  I had some really high highs this week, but I also have times where I feel really heavy-hearted.  I’m struggling with my work situation, which is weighing on me.  Sometimes I make mistakes and I am not perfect.  I  try not to beat myself up too badly… I am trying to go easy on myself…

it’s just hard sometimes.  :-/

Here’s to hope, for a better tomorrow!

 

Kurt Vonnegut

Leave a Reply

